Gambling Forum

Go Back   Gambling Forum > Gambling Forums > Poker
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 ()  
Old 03-12-2007, 01:47 PM
scott23 scott23 is offline
Low Roller
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 24
scott23 is on a distinguished road
Default which online room is it?

I searched for the Partypoker.de room on Google, because I want to register through the German portal, but the first result is some site called http://party.poker-portal.de. I am not sure if it related to Partypoker, they have the Partypoker banner, but does anyone know if this is the same room? Or are they pretending to be Partypoker? If it is not the same room, how come they show first on Google?
Reply With Quote
  #2 ()  
Old 03-13-2007, 05:51 AM
Harvey Harvey is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Great State of Texas
Posts: 871
Harvey is on a distinguished road
Default

Just because they show first on Google doesn't mean it's the same room. Engines like Google, Yahoo, and others take all kinds of things into consideration when ranking sites. There are people out there who make a living just by getting one site to list higher than the other.

As far as how to get the the German portal, I'll have to get back to you on that. But I promise that I will get back to you, unless someone else can provide you with the answer first.
__________________
"You gonna bark all day, little doggie, or are you gonna bite?" - Mr. Blonde from Reservoir Dogs
Reply With Quote
  #3 ()  
Old 03-13-2007, 08:21 AM
scott23 scott23 is offline
Low Roller
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 24
scott23 is on a distinguished road
Default Thanks

Wow that would be great if you could do that, i am not good over this internet stuff. i have posted this question in some other forums but none have replied yet.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #4 ()  
Old 03-14-2007, 12:23 PM
jassi jassi is offline
Low Roller
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 25
jassi is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott23
I searched for the Partypoker.de room on Google, because I want to register through the German portal, but the first result is some site called http://party.poker-portal.de. I am not sure if it related to Partypoker, they have the Partypoker banner, but does anyone know if this is the same room? Or are they pretending to be Partypoker? If it is not the same room, how come they show first on Google?
It is not the same poker room, they are only the affiliate for Partypoker. If you click on the banner (the table image, not the banner on top) you will be redirected to the real Partypoker site. The poker-portal site is just a billboard for them, that is why they are first in the results.
Reply With Quote
  #5 ()  
Old 03-14-2007, 01:46 PM
montena montena is offline
Low Roller
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
montena is on a distinguished road
Default

But if they want to be number one, why do they use http://party.poker-portal.de? Why not just use the de.partypoker.com?
Reply With Quote
  #6 ()  
Old 03-17-2007, 09:41 AM
jassi jassi is offline
Low Roller
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 25
jassi is on a distinguished road
Default

Because each site has their own key phrases for Google. They probably did not want to promote their main site on that phrase, so they use another site with a Partypoker banner.
Reply With Quote
  #7 ()  
Old 03-17-2007, 11:20 AM
scott23 scott23 is offline
Low Roller
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 24
scott23 is on a distinguished road
Default

That is all very interesting (not), but all I wanted to know is if it's safe to register through poker-portal, if it is really going to be a Partypoker registration? Because I have credit at Partypoker and I don't want to waste my time with a pretend site or mirror site or whatever
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Online Casino - Online Slots - Online Blackjack - Poker Tips

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.5.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0
Copyright 2005, Gambling Chit Chat, All Rights Reserved.